SXSW Day 2 – Music

OK, this’ll have to be quick – but the best music night so far was last night – the Top 3 shows here were ALL earth-shatteringly great, but in totally different ways, not least that the genres couldn’t be more different.  I suppose that’s SXSW in a nutshell – an amazing concentration of an amazing array of live music.

Man Man – A truly amazing live show – this is what I want from perfomers – blood, sweat and tears.  Lay down your health for the audience and they’ll follow you anywhere.  I’m a complete convert at this stage (pics to come – I didn’t bring my camera’s USB cable)

El-P – The man behind Def Jux blew the roof off the already out-doors Scoot Inn.  The Scoot is a good mile and a half from the SXSW hub of 6th St., so a bit of walking was in order through a REAL Austin neighborhood.  And I mean that in a good way.  Absolutely earth-shattering stuff, El Producto killed it.  (GREAT pics to come)

Via Audio – A show with a completely different vibe.  Playing to a half-empty room (didn’t see that coming) Via Audio were everything I expected and more.  The record has been my go to record for months and I was happy to meet with Jess (sigh) and the lads after the show.  Despite the lackluster turnout, I did hear Jess chatting to a rep from Arts&Crafts after the gig – You heard it hear first, folks! (more pics to come!)

Jesse Harris – A random revelation, Jesse’s a cross between Eliot Smith and Califone, although I’ve yet to hear the record.  Incidentally, his show took place on the 19th floor of the Hilton in Downtown Austin.  It was a wonderful repreive from the chaos of 6th St., with an amazing view of downtown…sweet.

The Answer – I’ve never claimed to be a fan of Answer’s music, but their impact on stage at the BatBar yesterday was undeniable.  Raucous, high-energy, shameless rock.  I don’t care who you are, there’s always room for that.  Brought the house down.   I’d suggest you check them live before you totally dismiss them.

One Response to SXSW Day 2 – Music

  1. Emmet says:

    I’m vicariously (and enviously) living your week through these updates. Will be checking out some of these for sure.

Leave a Reply

